Bread Baking Day 3: The Sourdough Experiment

bbd #03 - bread with rye sourdough

For a while I have already been thinking of trying to make a bread with rye sourdough. But my boyfriend who was a bit nervous about the smell kept me from actually doing it. So I was really happy about the theme of BBD#3, such that I had a reason for trying to bake with real self-made sourdough. Before I had tried dry sourdough from the supermarket. But making it myself from scratch was a very different experience. I sticked to the description and hints on this page and can really recommend them. So here come the story of my first self-made sourdough…

My rye sourdough at the first day: just 50 g of whole rye flour and 50 ml water.

tag1.jpg

Day 2: I added 50 g of whole rye flour and 50 ml water. You can see first bubbles and notice a light sour smell.

tag2.jpg

Day 3: It starts to smell sour and you see some more bubbles. Again, I added 50 g of whole rye flour and 50 ml water.

tag3.jpg

Day 4: I think this sourdough is ready for baking. It looks like a sponge inside.

tag4.jpg

For baking I took 300g of my sourdough and kept some in the fridge for later. Then, I added 75 ml water, 270 g of rye flour, a tblsp of sugar and a teasp of salt and kneaded it it a bread loaf. Then I put it into the oven at 35 degrees Celsius and left it to rest for 2 1/4 hours until it had doubled its volume.

brotimofen.jpg

Then I put it in the oven at 200 degress Celsius for 45 minutes, as it is a small loaf. And this is the result…. a nice and very tasty rye bread! I think it is much better than from the bakery. Furthermore, it is a great feeling to know exactly what is in your bread: nothing but rye meal, water, salt and sugar.

brotfertig.jpg

This is the bread in cut:

brotanschnitt.jpg

7 Antworten to “Bread Baking Day 3: The Sourdough Experiment”

  1. Weizenmischbrot (mit Roggensauerteig) « Willkommen in meiner Chaosküche Says:

    […] (mit Roggensauerteig) … oder Sauerteig, die Zweite. Nach meinem geglückten Sauerteig-Experiment habe ich einen Rest meines Sauerteigs in einem Glas im Kühlschrank aufgehoben. Diesen habe ich nun […]

  2. Roggenkrüstchen « Willkommen in meiner Chaosküche Says:

    […] mal wieder meinen Sauerteig aktiviert und Roggenbrot gebacken. Das Rezept ist das von meinem ersten Sauerteig-Experiment. So schmeckt mir das Brot einfach am besten, sogar besser als vom richtigen Bäcker. Daher mache […]

  3. ostwestwind.twoday.net Says:

    bbd #03 – Bread with Sourdough – Roundup

    Let me thank all participants for the 3rd round of breadbakingday . The theme was bread only leavened with sourdough, preferably from rye. It might be that my condition only leavened with sourdough wasn’t clear enough, so we have two kinds of particip…

  4. Ulrike Says:

    Vielen Dank für deinen Beitrag. Die BBD#03-Zusammenfassung ist jetzt online

  5. zorra Says:

    Gratuliere, ist dir gut gelungen.

  6. arfi Says:

    I think that’s a beautiful bread. Your boyfriend must be proud of you.

  7. Susan Says:

    Beautiful — I love the look of the crackled surface!

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar