World Pickle Day: Pickled Peppers – The Recipe

pickleday.jpgFoodfreak is right. Somehow I didn’t get round to blogging the recipe for the Pickled Peppers I made in May. They were highly experimental. So I decided not to publish the recipe until we had tried the peppers. They were actually quite nice, maybe a bit too sour, and survived about 3 month in the jar. Actually, I was planning to make some more pickles over summer and in autumn, but my work load is rather high at the moment. So I prefer not to spent so much time in the kitchen right now. However, my aunt-in-law gave me a recipe book for pickles, chutneys, marmelades and other preserves for my birthday. This means, I definitely have to try at least some of them.

Here you find the round-up for World Pickle Day and here’s the recipe for the „Pickled Peppers“:

Ingredients:

  • Red bell peppers
  • mustard seeds, Pepper corns, bay leaves, salt, sugar
  • white wine vinegar, water (50% each)

Preparation: Chop the peppers into small pieces or rings and boil them for some minutes until tender but still chewy. Put pepper pieces into clean jars. Heat vinegar and water together with the spices, add salt and sugar to taste. Pour boiling liquid over peppers in jars and immediately close jars tightly.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

